The Big Chop

Afroholics Anonymous

2015/01/img_1114.jpgI did my big chop almost exactly four years ago; it was quite an experience. I had not planned to go natural or thought my hair was badly damaged. Most of my life I had long hair; kiddie relaxers between the ages of 9 and 16. Even after I stopped relaxing my hair; I was still trying to maintain bone straight hair. Little did I know, I was damaging my hair extremely. When I wore my hair “natural” it was more like wavy than curly. I had no idea my hair was so unhealthy and going blonde for a year did not help (never doing that again).

At the age of 14, I was diagnosed with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis (JRA). Being a kid that always loved to play sports; this was hard for me to understand. For a couple of years I had flare ups from time to time and…

View original post 501 more words

Leave a Reply

